Consisting mistake making locomotives not work right

RyderLaw

I recently tried to do consisting on my DCS 52 controller and upon reading the manual that came with it telling how to do consisting. It was pretty confusing for me being that Im a beginner with this stuff. I tried looking it up on YouTube but found nothing on how to do consisting with that controller. I decided to give it a shot reading the manual and I put two locos (One is a Walthers BNSF and the other is a UP Athearn) on my programming track and changed the CVs to 19 and it worked out well. I put them on the tracks and when I ran them there was a difference in speed and one was going a different direction than the other so I changed their directions to match. But, I didn't want something to break so I stopped it. I then just ran my BNSF and it wasn't right. It runs well but the sounds werent playing so i just tried to reset the locomotive and the decoder wouldn't respond even though everything was working right. I then redid the locomotives decoder number back to 03 (it used to be 01). But, now the locomotive startup sound and throttle is on 01. But, all the other functions are on 03. My UP loco on the other hand, its loco number was 1943 and now its set on 01, it functions as it should but the numbers are switched. If anyone would know what I can do that would be great and if theres something that needs to be cleared up I can try.

I can't help you sorry, other than to say that you bought the right brand of DCC System if you want to be confused. If you want a very user friendly system with great customer support you might want to think about an NCE Starter System. In my opinion, unless you are a seasoned DCC person, digitrax is far too confusing and their manuals are written for people who know what they are doing, not to help people who are new to DCC.

Anyway, I am sure someone who uses the same controller will be able to help you or those more experienced in DCC and digtrax.