Choosing an idea for a layout

chessplayer

Hi all, I am brand new to the hobby (but fairly expierenced in moddeling in general), I decided to get into trains mostly because my son loves them and although he's far too young to really participate at this point I figure it will be something for us to do in the future and give him some fun stuff to look at now. I've decided to start with a very small layout so I can get the hang of everything. I've made a few decisions so far:

I'd like to model in N scale
I'm going to start with a 2x4 layout
I'm thinking about going with a point to point layout
I want to do prototype moddeling

I've almost completed the benchwork but that's as far as I've gotten so far. I'm having trouble coming up with an actual idea for the layout itself, time period/region etc... There's just so many options, I was wondering how you guys go through the choosing process when beginning your layouts?

Thanks in advance,
Kyle

Hi all, I am brand new to the hobby (but fairly expierenced in moddeling in general), I decided to get into trains mostly because my son loves them and although he's far too young to really participate at this point I figure it will be something for us to do in the future and give him some fun stuff to look at now. I've decided to start with a very small layout so I can get the hang of everything. I've made a few decisions so far:

I've almost completed the benchwork but that's as far as I've gotten so far. I'm having trouble coming up with an actual idea for the layout itself, time period/region etc... There's just so many options, I was wondering how you guys go through the choosing process when beginning your layouts?

Thanks in advance,
Kyle