Chicken or the Egg? Painting track

JimmyG

OK, maybe a dumb question but ... Which do I do first? Paint the track rust brown and THEN add ballst, or lay ballast and THEN paint the track? :confused: Obviously, I've never done this before.

One fast way is to spray the track (alone before laying)with rutty brown primer (very rust like) Roadbed can be painted (ballast color) gray, so once you start that process it wont take as much ballast.(any lightly missed areas will go un-noticed) Then simply clean the rail top with a bright boy or such. Ties can be touched up with different shades so they are not all same rust colored. ( a Q-tip and diff shades of paint, every few ties, good to have friends/club to help) Some paint after in place but its time consuming and if you have access to both side of the layout, you'll need to paint all sides. (which makes it feel like you did it twice.

Last edited by a moderator:
Actually you paint both before and after laying ballast. Here is a step by step guide.

Before you start, it's best to visit your local yards, branchlines, and mainlines, and make mental notes of the color of the rails and weathering effects on the track.

After your track is down and there are no problems with it.

1.The first thing you want to do is to "grease" the tops of the rails so paint won't stick to it. I take a old freightcar truck and spray it with CRC 2-26 electrical contact cleaner. I then run the truck on all my tracks, leaving a thin film of the cleaner on the railheads so the paint won't stick.

2. Next take a rusty reddish-brown color (like boxcar red) and paint the rails with a airbrush. You want to shoot the rail at a low angle perpendicular to the track. Use the paint cup instead of the bottle attachment to get the low angle. Take care not to paint electrical contact points at switches (mask them to be safe)