Baffling DCC / decoder issue

JeffH

Quick question as I'm still a newbie regarding decoder installations and programming.

I have a DCC ready Atlas N MP-15 and have a drop-in NCE decoder I have installed.

When I put it on the track, F1 F0 will turn on and off the headlight, but I get an error, something like "no decoder" by NCE PowerCab/JMRI. No matter if I try JMRI, or if I use the PowerCab directly, the loco will only respond to the headlight button on the PowerCab.

When I added the loco to the roster in DecoderPro, I chose the exact decoder I installed (NCE NMP15). JMRI let me add the loco/decoder to the roster, but when I try to read any values, I get, in red text at the bottom of the JMRI window saying something to the effect of it not seeing the decoder.

So... what could be allowing the decoder to respond to the headlight command from the PowerCab, but when I try to read or write CV values, I get an error, saying the system hasn't detected a decoder?

Other locomotives work just fine using the same track, same JMRI session, just a different loco, and I can read & write perfectly fine.

I'm afraid my decoder may have arrived DOA, but I don't have a tester... Hoping someone here may have a suggestion before I keep spinning my wheels.

Last edited:
F0 should be the headlight command.
the decoder uses motor pulses to verify programming changes. If the motor contacts aren’t good, the decoder won’t be able to verify programming.
Check to make sure the engine runs on dc before trying to use/program it on dcc.

Thanks for that suggestion!

I think I may have the decoder installed upside down. The contact areas look different on one side of the board versus the other, but I ran out of time to test that theory before I had to go to work.

Either that, or I may have buggered up the thin motor contact strips that reach up to touch the decoder.

Hopefully, I can stop obsessing about this issue long enough to let me focus on my job, LOL

Thanks for that suggestion!