Athearn PA Repair Help

catnippertom

That Oregon Guy
I mentioned a while ago in the "What are you buying this month" thread that I purchased a set of daylight cars with an Athearn Alco PA unit with it. The engine has been giving me some trouble. It seems to stutter quite a bit. I have run other locos on my layout and they seem to run fine but this one just doesn't want to make it through a full loop without being all the way on the throttle. I cleaned up the wheels and the contacts. I also lubricated all of the gears. Still having the same issues. A little less but still it won't make it a full lap. Any ideas?
1000002367.jpg

Ah the old blue box innards!
I’m no expert but I suspect you’ll get lots of responses to ditch the contact strip and solder wires, clean the wheels and those little square bushings in the bogies, and possibly clean the commutator where the brushes contact.
Oh, and while you’re up to your elbows in it check the brushes as well.

That's a pretty old model and no doubt corrosion has found its way into the entire electrical path.
As mentioned above, the wheels all the way up to the motor contacts need to be closely inspected and cleaned with a Doxit 5 type cleaner.
If you can find some nickel silver wheels to replace those terrible Blue Box wheels, you'll find you can run it longer than one lap without another wheel cleaning required.

I mentioned a while ago in the "What are you buying this month" thread that I purchased a set of daylight cars with an Athearn Alco PA unit with it. The engine has been giving me some trouble. It seems to stutter quite a bit. I have run other locos on my layout and they seem to run fine but this one just doesn't want to make it through a full loop without being all the way on the throttle. I cleaned up the wheels and the contacts. I also lubricated all of the gears. Still having the same issues. A little less but still it won't make it a full lap. Any ideas?View attachment 174536