Any Mining/logging Modelers Here?

HOexplorer

Hi, I'm Jim from SoCal. I'm a new HO modeler who is interested in mining and logging layouts. I have a small bedroom at my disposal and have tinkered with other scales. Age and arthritis has forced me to try HO. Just can't grip the fiddly bits anymore. I'm new here and hopefully this photo will show up. It is the plan of my mining layout. I would like to hear your input good or not so good about it. Thanks, Jim:)
IMG_2250.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Well this is interesting. 32 views and no replies. You don't have to be into mining or logging to comment on the plan do you? Jim:confused:

It looks like there are going to be some pretty tight curves in there. Just looking at the SE corner, the outer loop looks like it may be 18" radius, perhaps 20", and inside even tighter. What type of locos are you planning on running? The tighter radii curves may not be a problem if you're planning on running only shays.

Where is the mine ore going? Are you going to have some plants/industries in the SW corner?

Also, by my calculation the rise from 4" to 6.5" in the SW corner is roughly a 4% grade. That's pretty steep.

Are the numbers changes in elevation? If so, you are going to have alot of curves, changes in elevation around turnouts. Is that ok???

Ian, Thanks for being first and with some good comments. The curve in the SE corner is already laid out. The bench work is left over from an N layout I did. The curves are Atlas Code 83 15" radius. I laid this first to make sure my locos would get around. I have all Bachmann Spectrum locos. One is a two-truck Climax, another is a three-truck Shay, and the best of the bunch is a three-truck Heisler. The rest of the layout features Atlas Code 83 flex track. Turnouts will be Atlas Code 100 #4s. All will be appropriatley filed down to meet the Code 83.