Actual Scale in 1/87 ??

Mingo Assist

re·sus·ci·tat·ing the EL
Okay.. Im stupid.

Now with that out of the way recently a topic on true HO scale came up at our local hobby shop with friends and a NMRA official {for our area conventions}.
The topic was 1/87th vehicles ... As it turns out I had a few minutes at work and decided to measure a block truck {GMC MoW} next to a wide body GP40-2 unit sitting awaiting transformer release duties the other day and Ill tell you what..THINGS ARE OUT OF WHACK.
NewCumberlnd.jpg

In conclusion the NMRA gentleman made this statement.. Have you ever tried putting HO scale people in HO scale model cars.. they would all look 8 feet tall........
However in some matchbox cars they look perfect., and a few ive got from walthers.
So my question is am I the only one that just builds doing a eye to distance perspective ?
Has anyone else ever ran into this?

Last edited by a moderator:
I have no experience with cars, but I do with buildings. Quite a few of the buildings I have came from my uncle's much larger layout. My little layout has these buildings in much closer proximity. There are few HO buildings that look rediculous next to each other. I've had to pick and choose which buildings not only look like they belong next to each other, but look to be the same scale as well. I imagine it's like clothing, which is something I know quite a bit about. You can go to buy a pair of 34 waist pants form one store and they fit. Go to another store and a 34 is too tight. The point is, I think these manufacturers build there products on an approximation. I guess you have to be the judge of what looks correct.