a few weathering questions...

wongsing

I'm fairly new to model railroading but certainly not modelling, and I'm noticing that weathering a model railroad car is nothing like weathering say, aircraft like I've been used to...(this is seemingly more fun too!) Anyways, could someone answer a few questions for me please...I've already searched this forum and got LOTS of good answers, but here are some questions I just need to ask...

1.What is the best way to add graffiti? (haven't seen any threads on this...)
2.What color would be a good base for weathering trucks? I plan on painting them, then drybrushing...
3.Would it be safe to use isopropyl alcohol on my cars to "fade" the lettering, or is there a better way?

I hate to ask all these questions, but I'm just beginning to learn this whole new thing. Any help would be great!

-Rich

They have graffiti decals out there, that's the simplest way, but pricey. Alternately, you could use a fine brush to brush whatever you want onto the sides.

Grunge color is usually the best to make dirty weathering solution. The gunk that's on the bottom of the bottle you use to clean your paintbrush is a good start.

Iso Alkey sometimes is used to remove decals, so that might not be the best choice. Somebody else can suggest a better product to lighten lettering.

Kennedy

I use grafitti decals and fine point markers in white or black for grafitti. To fade lettering I use super-fine sand paper. I mean SUPER fine. I use the finest grit and then wear it out first before I use it. This can be used to remove lettering from freight cars. Try it on a junker car first.

Bill

Quite a few sites have graffiti decals so I'd say that's the easiest way albeit pricey. My fave graffiti decals are from sunsetwestproductions.
If you don't wanna go that route and have some skill drawing free hand you can use either very fine tipped markers or paint pens.