Track Plan help?

LebryantJohnson

I have been struggling to come up with a good track plan for a decently sized layout.

Currently, I have a 4x8 with two loops. I want to create a new layout because this one doesn't have a yard, long run, or large curves. Currently have 2 big boys that navigate 18" and 22" curves just fine but I want to be able to get Walthers Mainline passenger cars for my Sante Fe El Capitan and they need 24" curves.

For my new layout: I'm looking to be able to run 2-5 trains at the same time and have big enough curves to support passenger cars from Walther mainline (min curves 24"). Would be nice to have a staging yard to store cars and locomotives as well. Industry spurs are cool and would be appreciated as well but it's not mandatory for me to have them. I also have no problems with using flex track.

I have limited knowledge of track planning so any advice or preexisting track plans would be nice.

This would be a good start to get you thinking. https://scarm.info/layouts/track_plans.php?tracks=Atlas

Also, Kalmbach Publishing has several guides and an annual Track Planning edition.

But the very first thing to do is to have a firm idea of what about the last layout no longer appeals to you. That, as an initial guide, should go a long way to helping you to avoid mistakes in the next one. You mention longer passenger cars and 24" curves. Unless things have changed (for the better), 24" won't cut it. You'll need closer to 28" radius with 85+ foot passenger cars, especially with diaphragms. It may work just fine, even down to about 26" trailing, but when you back and take up all the slack in the couplers, those diaphragms will not want to compress much and they'll horse your cars out of curves much less than about 26-28" when you shove, which you might have to do when you park a train at a station.