The College Kid Layout Building Saga

catnippertom

That Oregon Guy
20230419_192410.jpg
First Real Layout.jpg

I created this thread in order to kinda continue what was going on in the first thread I made about purchasing my new HO Scale Lionel GS-4 Daylight 4454(link to it here). I got some grief about running my loco on the carpet of my small apartment so I caved and got some 20" x 30" poster board from the dollar store to lay it on. I got eight boards for four sections, two layers each. Above is the gluing of one of the sections of the four two-layer boards. Also above is the track layout that I am going to use. This build is going to be a really tight budget build with mainly resources that I have available to me and many things from the dollar store. I am a college student-athlete with little funds and space for model railroading so this has to be super small and super cheap. Any input is much appreciated. Hopefully, more updates are to come soon.

Well - you are taking a very sensible approach to this, well done on that! Not sure what sort of input you are looking for - your track plan is basic and workable unless you can extend the inner track to rejoin the main track along the southern border. Other than that mate, it looks as though you have it all planned and pretty much up and running 👍

Well - you are taking a very sensible approach to this, well done on that! Not sure what sort of input you are looking for - your track plan is basic and workable unless you can extend the inner track to rejoin the main track along the southern border. Other than that mate, it looks as though you have it all planned and pretty much up and running 👍
It ain't much but it will do for now. Bigger and better things to come once I am out of school.

I look at like this - you have some track, a train and they both work so you can run it all. This will just give you the incentive to add to it a little at a time, as you can afford things and as room permits.