Streetcar on a Shelf Project

Clang

My plan is to build a street scene with a street car on a shelf (I don’t have room for a railroad setup). I’m new to the hobby and I’ve found a lot of information on this forum. The scope of my project is to run a streetcar 10-12 feet back & forth with some stops and streetcar sounds, plus street and building lighting.

I decided to go O-scale. I found a Rail King PCC streetcar with the Twin Cities colors (a real one still runs between two lakes in Minneapolis). The streetcar is DCS/DSS compatible and has Proto-Sound 3. I figured it allowed me options for a control system.

I had to decide if I wanted to go DCS or DSS. I downloaded manuals for several controllers (when possible) to review them – I figure a good manual would be the most significant support I can rely on (I’m a technical writer). I read MTH was ending production but I choose the MTH DCS system because it has very good documentation available and offers an integrated system with a track interface controller (TIU), an accessory interface unit (AIU), and WIFI module; it should be good for my limited application.

I wanted the hand-held remote because I think hardware will-last longer than an app. A TIU with the hand-held remote/TIU combo is only available on Ebay, used prices on Ebay exceeded the newer WIFI/TIU price. I eventually found one for about list price, once I got that piece, I looked for the rest. The MTH site has a Find It Locally button, it lists all of the hobby shops around the USA that had the items I wanted. I bought the rest of my components from small hobby shops.

I got the hand-held remote, TIU module, AIU module, WIFI module, power supply, and Graves track. I also bought the $5 version of the app and the DCS Companion manuals (versions 1 and 2, for the remote and WIFI versions), the manuals are 240 pages with detailed information which is a big help.