Proto 2000 SD7 Lighting query

Smudge617

Morning All
I'm new to the HO scale and American Locos in particular, (I normally model UK steam in OO gauge). But have decided to go in a new direction.
My query is this, I have an SD7 loco that is fitted with an 8 pin socket and 12v bulbs front and back, I've fitted a Digitrax decoder and all is well, runs beautifully, lights work, great, but I want to swap out the 12v bulbs for LED's, I've done this many times on UK locos, no problem, but I cannot get them to work on the SD7 and I cannot work out why, I know it's not the polarity, and I've tried with and without resistors, I've refitted the original lights, and they still work. There is a wire marked "cut for DCC" but there seems to be some indecision on several forums as to whether this wire needs to be cut or not. Do I need to cut this wire? or as seems to be the case, swap out the circuit board? If it's a new circuit board which would you suggest replacing it with?
Many thanks for your help.

Welcome to the forums.
If the circuit board really puts out 12v DC, you've probably already ruined the 1.5-4v LEDs. If your SD7 has bulbs, they are likely 1.5v, not 12v. If so, it's possible the board is not sending enough voltage to the LEDs to light them, or you may have the LEDs connected in reverse. Try swapping the leads to them, and see if they illuminate.

I have an SD7 loco that is fitted with an 8 pin socket and 12v bulbs front and back, I've fitted a Digitrax decoder a... but I want to swap out the 12v bulbs for LED's, ...There is a wire marked "cut for DCC" but there seems to be some indecision on several forums as to whether this wire needs to be cut or not.
How is the wire marked "cut for DCC"? A tag on the wire? Where is this wire coming from and going to?

Hi, Thanks bnsf

Sorry I misspoke, by 12v I meant on DC power, the original 1.5v bulbs I have replaced back into the loco, and they still work.