Operating a DC loco on a DCC layout

rreitz

I'm new to DCC and building a small n scale layout. I've bought a few DCC equipped locos and one DC version I will convert to DCC at some point. I also have a DigiTrax ZEPHYR DCS52 for the DCC part. I understand that DCC puts a constant 14 - 16V on the rails but one DC loco can also be run with a separate DC power supply. I suspect that the variable DC is superimposed on the rails along with the constant AC voltage but the question is - what is the effect on the DC loco with that constant AC voltage always present?

Not quite.

On some DCC systems, you can run a DC engine on address 0. DCC puts a pulsed constant voltage in the rails and by varying the pulses it can "trick" a DC engine into thinking its on DC. However, it can also damage the DC motor in the engine. That's why some DCC systems don't allow using address 0 to run a DC engine.

If you hook up a DC power supply to a layout with an operating DCC system, something is going to fry.

The only way to hook up a DC system is to add block toggles that switch between DC and DCC in sections of the layout.

I believe DigiTrax has a method to allow 1 DC loco to be run on their DCC system using the address 00 (double zero) but no other brand does that. Whether that means along with DCC locos at the same time, can't say, but it sounds illogical. DCC is not your normal house type AC current either. That has a round top and bottom like the waves of the Sea. DCC current is a rectangular wave with straight vertical sides and horizontal tops and bottoms. The lengths of the tops and bottoms are what carry the digital signal and they vary according to what the signal is. The decoder in the engine unscrambles them.