MTH Proto 3 engine won't work

CSXMATT

I have a MTH Dash-8 Proto 3 engine that all of the sudden stopped working. It was running well, and all of the sudden started to hesitate and shudder. My DCS commander flashed the engine number, "poor signal". The engine shut down, and now won't restart. Do these get out of sync like the older proto engines? What should I do to fix it, and is it fixable? The engine is 6 months old and has had minimal use. The track look relativity clean and no bad spots. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Hey Matt,

Sorry to hear about your troubles. I have zero experience with MTH. I would try and call MTH and or the vendor you bought it from.

Hopefully one of the experts will come along and give you better help soon.

If you still can't find an answer you could try the OGR forum, there are many MTH DCS operators on that forum. http://ogrforum.ogaugerr.com/

I wish I could be of more help. I wish you well.

Since it started to hesitate and shudder, and the controller says poor signal, then, it seems to me, that you have a problem with dirty wheels and/or track. I would clean them both, and then try it again.

In HO with DCC, when the locomotives start acting like this, its always dirty wheels, dirty track, or both. Since the locomotives with all the newer electronics and stuff in them are relying on what is actually a very small area of contact through the wheels for communication between the command stations, and the onboard decoder, any dirt can cause the degradation or even total loss of that communication. Dirty track and wheels became more of a problem with this digital control, and it has become extremely important to have clean contact with the rails.