Loco dying at turn-out

Rusty_08

Hi everyone, I'm still new to this so any help would be appreciated.

I just ballasted my track and took a loco for a test run. When it reaches my 1st turn-out, the loco dies at the metal frog and the Powercab restarts. If I nudge it past the metal frog, it gets going again. I had caboose throws installed but removed them because I did not like them. I have purchased tortoise machines but they are not installed yet so I've just tried to throw the switch manually.

Is there something I have done wrong? Do I need another feeder closer to this frog? Will the installation of the tortoise machine fix this issue? Do I need a turnout without the metal frog? Thanks in advance.

Installing a tortoise machine wont solve the problem, if the Powercab is restarting you've a short somewhere, is the frog an Insulfrog or Electrofrog also what track are you using Atlas, E-Z track would also help ? And was there a problem before you ballasted your track ?

Installing a tortoise machine wont solve the problem, if the Powercab is restarting you've a short somewhere, is the frog an Insulfrog or Electrofrog also what track are you using Atlas, E-Z track would also help ? And was there a problem before you ballasted your track ?
I researched what kind I have and it looks like an Atlas Insulfrog with the metal frog in between the 2 sets of tracks. There was not an issue before the ballast but I only ran it a few times before ballasting. After ballasting, it ran rough which is why I'm looking at cleaning my track, but it never died.

I researched what kind I have and it looks like an Atlas Insulfrog with the metal frog in between the 2 sets of tracks. There was not an issue before the ballast but I only ran it a few times before ballasting. After ballasting, it ran rough which is why I'm looking at cleaning my track, but it never died.