Search results

1. R

Directional lighting for DCC train set

Yes, it is a dummy, but it has an 8-pin socket. From what I've looked at, ESU makes a function only decoder (# 52620) with an 8-pin connector, so I'll probably go with that one. I think a lot of the European models have this setup with an 8-pin socket in a dummy that has built in lighting...
  2. R

thanks, good to know. can you recommend the type of 100 ohm resistors that i would need for an 8 pin decoder? a link perhaps? I'm new to all this, so any guidance is much appreciated. thanks!
  3. R

I cant run the set with the powered loco up front, because when I do that, the dummy's lights are on as both the rear and the headlights. I want the dummy to have the rear lights on when the loco is in foward and have the head lights on when the loco is in reverse. So it looks like using a...
  4. R

Ok great, thank you. Do you have any recommendations for a function only decoder? Wasn't aware they even existed until now. Also, how does it work when I will have 2 decoders on one trainset? Can i control both at the same time? will I have to set up a consist? Just unsure as to how it...
  5. R

Hi All, I apologize if this has been covered on this forum, but after a search, I couldn't find the answer I needed. Anyway, here goes. . . After returning to the hobby recently, I bought a couple of trainsets, one being the Bachmann Amtrak Acela Express set in HO. My layout is DCC and I...
  6. R

Rolling Stock for Union Pacific set

excellent points all and thank you. does anyone think this will be less of a problem if I connect a longer rolling stock like a tanker as the first car connected to the loco, then work my way down to shorter stock? Or will the problem persist no matter what?
  7. R

thanks, I checked with Athearn and they did say that the SD70s minimum radius is 18" so I should be ok on that point.
  8. R