Search results

1. M

Book suggestions

I will soon begin construction on my ho layout and was woundering if there is a good book explaining the wiring of DCC and other general electrical systems. This is my first layout so it's new to me, and I want to do it right. Thanks
  2. M

switch power

If you were to install powered/remote turnouts on your layout, would they be on the same power feed as the trains? Probably a dumb question.
  3. M

coupler upgrades

I recently bought my first trains.These ar the couplers that camewith everything. I would eventualy like to upgrade to the system where a magnet is under the table. How much will this cost? what kind should I get? Where do I get them? any suggetions would be appreciated.
  4. M

ho layout plan/ construction

I will soon begin consruction on my first layout. The scale will be ho. As far as era, I was thinking early 1950's, in the appalations. This is my plan. Sorry if It didn't come through, I'm new at this. The longest car I'll be running will probably be a 85' passenger car. Other than that single...
  5. M

Y turnouts

If there is a #3 Y turnout, would it actualy only have the turn of a #6 standard turnout?
  6. M

profile updates

How do you add pictures to your profile?
  7. M

Ahm

I am looking at few engines for sale and wanted to know the quality of an AHM RS2 and a 4-6-2. Each is $20. Is that a good deal?
  8. M

Tyco quality?

I am looking to buy some used trains and want to know the quality of tyco rolling stock. Any suggestions? Any information would be nice.
  9. M

n vs. ho

I am looking to start a model railroad. I have limited space. (4'x8') Which scale do you think would best suit an area of this size? Which is a better deal?
  10. M

Gramp's old RR magazines