Recent content by Dub

ModelRailroadForums.com is a free Model Railroad Discussion Forum and photo gallery. We cover all scales and sizes of model railroads. Whether you're a master model railroader or just getting started, you'll find something of interest here.

1. Dub

O-Gauge or Lionel?

I thought about measuring the distance between the rails, but there is an easier way. The wheels made of metal must be isolated from each other. It is harder to do if the truck is made of metal. The couplers are aging, over 40 years. One picture shows hair line cracks all over the coupler.
  2. Dub

Track for 3 rail layout

You can build what you can afford. Fasttrak is ok. I do not believe any track offered today is junk. You may want to consider sources that are close. Heck go to craigslist and buy someones table! If you can move it. This post may shock members I have not been here for years.
  3. Dub

Newbie here. I have an old Lionel (1930) that won't run. Advice needed.

Use a cheeper engine to make sure the track is ok. Just think if that engines works it may work too well and fly off the track. Put up some bumper boards. I agree with checking the track. The center rail must be isolated from the track piece.
  4. Dub

How to replace smoke unit on Lion Chief Scout 246x

On smoke unit engines I often use a simple slide switch, wrap it in electrical tape around the base then epoxy it inside the cab. Just cut the feed to the smoke unit and add the two switch wires there. Be careful not to let the epoxy seep into the switch.I have used screws on the switch and...
  5. Dub

How to replace smoke unit on Lion Chief Scout 246x

Two screws on the bottom plate should get you in. A pin at he back of the motor slides out only one way. The scout uses a plastic monster for smoke, once they burn out they stink. This module fits all the modern starter four wheel drive engines . You may have to solder one or two wires for the...
  6. Dub

How do you mount an open circuit board?