DCC Reverse Loop Questions

Jethro80

Good Morning, My father and I are working on a layout together and we have some questions about a reverse loop on the layout. The reverse loop is highlighted in green on the attached photo. We are both novices in the hobby and appreciate any and all the help you guys can provide. Since the reverse loop has multiply entry points how would one isolate the loop? Also we planned on wiring in the Digitrax AR1 reverser (we are using the Digitrax Zephyr system) would that work in this situation, would we need anything else? Any other potential issues we will encounter with reverse loop and current configuration? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 0.jpg
    0.jpg
    111.6 KB · Views: 60
OK, I believe you have a relatively short section that can be controlled by the AR1. If you isolate the section higlighted in yellow, by insulating the joints in red, I believe you will be good to go.

But I'm not an expert, so hopefully some more people will stop by and have a look as well.
1669213515336.png

There may be a way to include the entire loop, but those turnouts that exit the loop at the 11:00 and 12:00 positions have me scratching my head.

If teh solution in yellow works on paper, the only issue you may have is if your train has lighted passenger cars. Since those cars pick up electricity from the tracks, they can cause a short way back at the end of the train. Usually, it's just teh locomotive that is of concern. Hope that all made sense.

OK, I believe you have a relatively short section that can be controlled by the AR1. If you isolate the section higlighted in yellow, by insulating the joints in red, I believe you will be good to go.

But I'm not an expert, so hopefully some more people will stop by and have a look as well.
View attachment 156516

There may be a way to include the entire loop, but those turnouts that exit the loop at the 11:00 and 12:00 positions have me scratching my head.