How to detect which DCC loco is in a block?

fpmacko

My modeling so far as been only large scale outdoor so I'm still learning about DCC. I'm building a small indoor HO layout using NCE BD20 DCC block detectors on each of my 10 blocks. Not sure if I'll be using JMRI or something homebrew as a control system. I understand how block detection works but I'm drawing a blank on how to discern "which" of my two locos has entered a block so that I know which loco to stop if the next block is showing a stop indication.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Frank Mackowick
Annapolis MD

My modeling so far as been only large scale outdoor so I'm still learning about DCC. I'm building a small indoor HO layout using NCE BD20 DCC block detectors on each of my 10 blocks. Not sure if I'll be using JMRI or something homebrew as a control system. I understand how block detection works but I'm drawing a blank on how to discern "which" of my two locos has entered a block so that I know which loco to stop if the next block is showing a stop indication.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Frank Mackowick
Annapolis MD
What you are looking for is Digitrax Transponding or the Lenz RailComm. The NMRA DCC standard is RP S-9.3.2 "Bi-directional Communication". The Lenz is NMRA compliant. The decoders in each locomotive have to be so equipped to report channel, speed, and direction back to the command station.