New to DCC

dano126

Hello, I'm new to DCC, and just dove into it head first...and I know nothing. I have my layout all set up for it, with a program track and all.
I put a NCE P2KSR decoder in a Proto 2000 GP30, and nothing happened when I put it on either the program track or main line. So then, about a half hour ago, I put a Digitrax DH126D decoder in a Athearn RTR GP60M DCC quick plug equipped. With out putting it on the program track, I set it on the mainline, and turned on my MRC Prodigy Advance2, and the loco moved, but really loud, and no real speed, when I turned the throttle wide open. As far as this one is concerned, would i have to put it on my program track and change some CV's to make it run right?
Then, back to the Proto, should I flip the decoder around to see it that makes a difference?
I'll take any kind of productive input. I've been wanting to get this railroad back in business. Its been down for 15 years, due to a fire in our basement that took out my original DC layout. I acquired locos, rolling stock and other stuff in the mean time. Now the time has come to rebuild the Empire!

As far as the NCE P2KSR is concerned it seems you may have it reversed. Here is a pic of that decoder showing Pin1 indicated with a small arrowhead. That must go into the Pin 1 socket on the loco's board. Also there is usually another adapter plug that goes between board and decoder. They sometimes don't get supplied with either engine or decoder.
1585466761044.png

Hey, welcome and welcome to DCC. I'm by no means an expert at DCC, but I've done a number of installs on my fleet and run an NCE system.

To help us understand your issue, can you be a little more specific on the GP30 when you say "nothing happened?" I'm not familiar with MRC's system, but on the programing track, were you able to get your system to recognize and identify the new decoder? Were you able to program a locomotive address (i.e. ID number) for it? Did any functions such as lights work?