another sad MTH TALE

I'm glad that I am easy to please. I'll stick with my DC, put the locomotive on the track and watch it go. I have operated on layouts that had DCC with sound, it's nice, but I have seen so many posts with problems with DCC, I'm glad that I am not interested in changing. I am a lone operator, and for my type of layout, DC works fine.

I'm glad that I am easy to please. I'll stick with my DC, put the locomotive on the track and watch it go. I have operated on layouts that had DCC with sound, it's nice, but I have seen so many posts with problems with DCC, I'm glad that I am not interested in changing. I am a lone operator, and for my type of layout, DC works fine.

This has nothing to do with DCC per se. Not that I'm trying to sell you on DCC, but his problem is caused by MTH's DCS system. He's mixing apples and oranges. This is why I don't own any MTH locomotives. They force their proprietary system on you. You can do some basic programming of their stuff on DCC but last I heard to get full command of all functions you need to use their DCS system. They don't sell DCS decoders separately so you can't choose to transition to DCS unless you buy only MTH locomotives. Almost all of the problems people have with DCC are caused by attempting to keep some part of their layout DC or by mixing systems like this guy has done. He says he's into computers so he probably knows just enough to be dangerous. I had a friend get his Milwaukee road Bipolar so buggered up he had to take it to his LHS so the tech there could reset it on a DCS system, after which it was fine. Bottom line: Don't mix systems and you won't have this sort of trouble.