The Livingston Model Railroad Club

montanan

Whiskey Merchant
I've been a lone operator up here in Montana ever since I returned 40 years ago. I had no idea that there was a model railroad club in Livingston until I was notified of a train show in the old Northern Pacific Depot in Livingston, MT. The old depot has been restored and is now a museum.

Livingston_Montana_Depot,_2005.JPG

The entrance to the club is in the basement of the building on the left. You can see the stairs going down to the left of the "Swap Meet" sign.

There's a lot of railroad history in that town. It is now the home of the Montana Rail Link shop.

I will start off with a video taken at the club.

For me it is a hunderd mile round trip to get to the club, and in the winter, having to drive over Bozeman Pass can be a pain, but it is worth it. The members are quite informal and extremely friendly. While attending a swap meet I had gone down to the club and was invited to run at the club.

I do still run DC only at home because not only being a lone operator, my layout was built for switching and there is no real need to run multiple locomotives. That is different at the club. The of course run DCC with Digitrax. I will be the first to admit that I am a DCC dummy, but do have a few DCC locomotives, and even purchased a Northern Pacific RS-1 mainly to run at the club.

20180421_200035.jpg

The layout occupies three room in the basement of the old baggage building, which is on the left in the photo at the top. They had quite a job drilling through the 2 foot thick concrete walls of the basement to get the tracks into the different rooms. The scenery is very well done and some of the backdrops were hand painted by local artists of the actual area around Livingston and the surrounding areas.