Styrene, whatcha know bout it?

N-gauged

Off The Rails
I an wanting to scratch build some buildings for my n-scale layout and I've never used styrene before.
I looked it up and found a few sites that sell it but it comes in different thicknesses.

This site here has a lot of different types of shapes (angle, tube, I-beam, ect..) that I would like to use.
http://www.hobbylinc.com/htm/evg/evg291.htm

But I don't know what size of thickness I need for n-scale.
Can someone fill me in with some info about styrene?

Also I have never purchased styrene parts before so I don't know if this is good prices or not.

Styrene is simply a type of plastic. The three most commonly used plastics in the hobby are styrene, resin, and delrin.

I can't say anything about the thickness since I've never used it to build anything before.

as far as making buildings, i wouldnt go any thinner than .060. anything smaller seems to stay flimsy. as far as tubes and i-beams it would just depend on the size of the building you are doing.

I am wanting to build a three door engine house.
So .060 is good to use for the walls for n-scale?
I was wanting to use angle on the outside corners and some vertical strips on the sides so it wont just be all flat.
Is .060 good for the angles and strips too or should they be .040 or .020?

0.060-0.80 would be good for the thickness of sheet styrene. i think the 1.5mm would be might look ok on the corners. best thing to do is go to a local shop(if you have one)and compare the sizes to figures.

If you attempt to cut windows in .080 thick plastic especially in N scale, you will be at it a while. I am using .060 for HO scale structures and using a drywall knife to get through that.