Sometimes track plans don't work out

NYC_George

I had some trouble with passenger cars derailing on a curve just after they came off the helix. No trouble with freight just the passenger.
I decided to take out the curve and at the same time expanding the trestle bench work. It worked The new realigned trestle is in the image below. It's the top bridge. While I was doing this I also painted some background scenery. I'm no artist but it's fairly easy to do. Just trying to create some shadows with some brown, green, light green and grey colors.

George

janesville_bridge_complex_1.jpg

Sometimes track plans certainly do not work out. That is true. Great work. Your scenery looks fantastic!

Funny you’d post this now George, I’m finding problems with exactly the same thing!
I'm rethinking the whole track plan today, need to simplify the dang thing.

Unfortunately, a failed track system, or a portion of it, lies chiefly in not thinking things through from the beginning. In fact, not crafting a scale diagramme is often where things go wrong, or wanting to cram too much trackage into a defined space.

Call it good luck on my part, but right from the beginning I knew I needed to see where my tracks would run and if the curves would all come to a loop, the way I like to see my trains run. I would take 1" wide masking tape and lay it all out on the floor using a trammel or some kind of measuring device to ensure my radii were correct, but also to ensure my frog angles and turnout lengths were accurate.