new to hobby

chief093

i am new to the hobby. i am looking to pick up a good starter set and i am looking for some opinions/recomendations. i am currently looking at a set by kato the unitrack csx set. the other two sets i am looking at are walthers trainline and athearn iron horse. i am not very familiar with these companies the only set i ever had was a tyco burliington northern from when i was a kid in the 70s. i am wonder what anyone can tell me about these sets also mth locomotives compared to kato locomotives thank you

All three manufacturers are good quality. The Kato set is probably going to have the nicest quality models, not that Athearn and Walther's aren't good stuff. Walther's Trainline is entry level, great for beginners. The only negative thing about this approach is that Kato unitrack may not readily connect with other manufacturers versions of unitrack. They are all a little different.

i am new to the hobby. i am looking to pick up a good starter set and i am looking for some opinions/recomendations. i am currently looking at a set by kato the unitrack csx set. the other two sets i am looking at are walthers trainline and athearn iron horse. i am not very familiar with these companies the only set i ever had was a tyco burliington northern from when i was a kid in the 70s. i am wonder what anyone can tell me about these sets also mth locomotives compared to kato locomotives thank you
I agree. In my opinion, Kato is top of the line. Walther's Trainlilne is good for beginner. The Athearn brand has been the go-to, main stay, of HO scale hobbyists for about 50 years now. I don't think you can go wrong with any of those. Also agree about the track. Absolutely nothing wrong with Kato track, but it is just unique and doesn't match up well to other brands.

Avoid Bachmann sets unless they specifically say "Spectrum" on them. Avoid the Life Like and Model Power brands as those are toy train things similar to the Tyco of bygone days.