Mounting Trucks on N Scale chassis – Help Needed

NYO&W

The LIRR MP-54 Project:

This is my first attempt at building a kit in N Scale. The prototype was used on the long gone Whitestone Branch of the Long Island Railroad, a portion of which I will be modeling. Paint scheme will be PRR Tuscan Red with black roof and chassis. They were run as motorized coaches after electrification of the branch. I plan to scratch build the roof mounted headlight and marker lights, to represent the motorized version, prior to painting.

QUESTIONS:

What type/size mounting screw and pin vice drill bit/s would one use to mount the trucks? See photo for close-up of attach points.

Would I use a 00-90 with a #62 drill bit such as are used for Micro Train body mount couplers or something else? The kit manufacturer recommended a #1 screw, but what does that translate to in the screw selection found in the Walther’s catalogue?

I assume a larger hole would be required in the truck to allow the truck to pivot freely. How much wider should I go with that one?

Thanks for Looking!

I think a #1 screw might be a 1-72. It looks from your pictures that the truck and the bolster have not been drilled out yet. A smaller screw like a 00-90 or an 0-80 might not have enough holding power. Of course adding a motorized truck would be a different problem and require a different mounting strategy.

You might be able drill out the truck and the bolster and use a standard bolster pins from Micro-Trains, Atlas or other mfg.

Glenn

I think a #1 screw might be a 1-72. It looks from your pictures that the truck and the bolster have not been drilled out yet. A smaller screw like a 00-90 or an 0-80 might not have enough holding power. Of course adding a motorized truck would be a different problem and require a different mounting strategy.

You might be able drill out the truck and the bolster and use a standard bolster pins from Micro-Trains, Atlas or other mfg.

Glenn