Layout size - How much is enough?

fmjnax

I'm more-or-less a newbie here. My only experience has been with HO scale about 10 year ago on a 4x4 square layout (not enough room for what I was really wanting to do!). I'm now to a point where I want to try again and I am planning an N scale layout.

Based on the [bad] experience I had with the 4x4 not being big enough, I'm planning this new layout to make sure I have enough room.... but at the same time, I don't want to have so much room that I am overkill on the layout.

First off, I know I'm going to go with an L-Shaped layout and not a square/rectangle. I have about a 10x10 zone to work with. I have been toying with three different dimensions; an 8x8 (48sqft), a 6x6 (27sqft), or a 4x4 (12sqft). The more I think about it, the more I lean towards the 6x6, but I'm not sure just how much real estate that is in the N-scale world.

As for my plans with the layout, I'm going for kind of a Rocky Mountain/valley diorama. I grew up in Idaho and I remember the pine-covered, rocky mountain switchbacks with the trains running through the mountains and along the river and finally coming out into the valley/town. This is ultimately what I am going to shoot for (or a much simplified aspect of it, anyway). I need to make sure I have enough space to handle the switchbacks and the grades. Any thoughts?

Most folks today build the bench work against the walls going around the perimeter of the room....usually no more than three feet deep to be able to reach across the platform while working on it. That way you can be in the middle with the layout surrounding you. Sounded like you intended to make one big square platform.....which is fine if you can make that work for you. The main thing is to have fun and I think you'll enjoy N scale. I went on a vacation in Idaho once and went to Craters of the Moon national park, and through Sun Valley, and camped in the mountains in central Idaho. Beautiful state!

Mike