How To Wire

brubakes

I'm hoping someone can help me with how to wire my layout. Attached is a very crude layout picture. It's basically a outer and inner loop with a figure 8 in the middle of the inner loop. I'm using DCC for controlling it. Currently my issue is that with the center "X" connected nothing will work or move. I'm guessing short circuit. Any tips you can give me I would appreciate it. I have insulated rail joiners ready and waiting.....

MVR1.png

I'd suggest first tracing your outer rail with your finger, and once it becomes an inside rail, that's where you have a short circuit. There, use insulated joiners, and use a dcc auto reverse loop module, which will automatically flip polarity.

Looks like I might have gotten to far ahead of myself. Need to learn about using the auto reverse modules. Where on my layout would I need them placed? I'm not sure I'm understanding the reading from the link posted. Sorry, I'm a newbie with dcc.

I'd say put them on the ends of the big X in the middle, provided that the length across the X is enough to hold a whole train.

DCC or DC, a reverse loop will always create a short circuit. Think of it this way.

Each rail has a different polarity. If you loop a length of track back into itself (so that a train travels down the track one way, turns around, and comes back on the same track in a sort of P shape), the two rails connect to each other and you have a short circuit. Looking at what I've described, you'd have one solid rail (not counting connectors) going all the way around, from connection to connection.