HAHA Can you answer this RR question?

He stated that he didn't know why the limit was what it was.
I would think that a professional would know why. Makes it easier to remember the rules.

He stated that he didn't know why the limit was what it was.
I would think that a professional would know why. Makes it easier to remember the rules.
What an ignorant comment. There are THOUSANDS of rules. Literally thousands. There are more than one reason for a rule. I gave 2 reasons. I am a professional, you are a very petty person to leave an ignorant comment on a fun video.

What an ignorant comment. There are THOUSANDS of rules. Literally thousands. There are more than one reason for a rule. I gave 2 reasons. I am a professional, you are a very petty person to leave an ignorant comment on a fun video.
Ignorant huh? Not knowing why a rule is in place can lead to misinterpretation which in turn can lead to disasters.

I watched the video, and knew right away what the answer was.

Single "lite" engine -- 30mph.
Multiple lite -- varies, often is 50-60.

So, in the situation, operating under an "Approach Limited" signal (which requires speed reduced to 45mph), the fact that there's only ONE engine further limits the speed to 30.

WHY this limitation?
Because engines are heavy, and their weight-to-braking power ratio is on the weak side. They can be harder to get stopped if needed.

I'm thinking the 30mph limit for a single lite engine -might- be because of an FRA directive (not sure about that).

A personal experience with lite engine moves:
It was Christmas Eve, 1984. Conrail wanted to clear all their engines out of Oak Point yard for the holiday weekend, as there would be nobody there. So I got called for the job, and put 15 engines (just about all B23-7's and SW1500's) together, and ran them up to Selkirk yard (south of Albany).
That "train" was HEAVY. Good that I had dynamics on about the first 4 or 5 that were "on the line".