DCC Conversions

Railjack

Hello all:)

Hopping back into the Hobby after many years away and I see that I need to switch over to DCC now that its the standard.

Ive got some of the old Athearn kit Diesels that I would like to convert over if possible.I see that there is a "wired" Decoder available that can be soldered onto the motor plates(after some additional modification of course) of these old kits,prices seem reasonable at 20-35.00.My units are mostly mid 80`s blue box stuff with the flywheel motors and are in great shape,,thing is im not good at knowing all this amps and resistance stuff about electronics as im a 30 year Journeyman Plumber and well,,water and electricity dont mix:eek:.Anyhow,do these older motors work well with this modern DCC stuff?

I also ordered up the NCE PowerCab starter set to replace my old TechII as it seems it rates pretty high for starting out:)

Eventually I would like to go Deadrail but looking into that it seems its still a bit off as I would need to pretty much run a battery dummy,plus I figure I should get to know the ins and outs of this DCC stuff first,heh.

Engines usually that hard to convert provided you can isolate the power sources. I know there's some locomotives that convert easily and some that don't.

I'm trying to find just the right telfon screws to mount a motor on one. I found the right size, but the threads are different than the screws I have. As for how they perform afterwards, some do act differently. I'm not quite sure why.

Its good practice to remove the motor during the conversion process and give it a good servicing. Make sure it works well before you continue, otherwise DCC will exacerbate issues.