BLI 4-6-2 derails

MilwRoader_Steve

Greetings all,

HO newbie here. I have a BLI 4-6-2 which does not operate well.

I have the Micro Engineering Code 70 yard ladder system with #5 TOs. The loco:

1) Does not like the unpowered frogs - - - That I will fix whern I automate with TO motors.

2) derails a lot. Especially in reverse. It seems as though the tender may be too light as it almost always cants/leans/lists over in reverse and the misses the frog.

I would appreciate any suggestions on how to fix this. Pictures and "how-tos" much appreciated. I like the loco and do want to run steamers, but at this point, I'm about ready to sell the thing and get 40s era diesels. I have two now with 4 wheel trucks (a Bowser and a Walthers) and they run great through the ladders.

Thanks in advance.

Have you (a) checked the gage of the tender wheels? (b) tighten the screw on one truck (try the rear one) so that it swivels freely but does not tilt, and leave the other one slightly looser so it has some tilting freedom (but not all that much)? If that doesn't work, try loosening the rear truck and tightening the front one. Is the drawbar between the engine and tender causing the tender to sway in reverse? Might need some adjustment (shimming or adding a washer on either the engine or the tender. Per your thought, can you add some weight to the tender?

You say it does not like the unpowered frogs. What do you mean by that? Does it stall on the turnout? Do you have the traction tires on the loco? You can have traction or electrical connection but not both.

Correct, Ken, the loco either stalls or does a sound restart going over the #5 frogs. Seems that only the 6 driver wheels are power pick-up. I guess I had thought some of the other idlers would pick up track power. No traction tires installed.

TR - Good idea, I'll try making some adjustments to the tender trucks. I also somewhat wonder if I can replace the 6 wheel trucks with 4 wheel trucks on the tender.