Athearn blue boxes

Hi all, I am new to the hobby (my dad and I did some model railroading nearly 25 years ago) so I don't really count that time. Anyways, I like to buy up some old blue box locos as they are fairly cheap and I practice painting, weathering, detailing, etc. on them. I am wondering what to do about an SDP40 I have that has metal side frames. They are brittle and some brake parts are broken off. Is there somewhere I can find replacement metal frames or even the entire truck assembly in the form of an upgrade? Thoughts please?

Hi James, and welcome to the forum! You can always pick up stuff on ebay, especially if you are looking for practice material. That is where I bought almost everything for quite a while.

There is a learning curve on how to bid, and what to expect. I would recommend on starting small. also pay attention to the sellers rating and number of transactions.

Hi all, I am new to the hobby (my dad and I did some model railroading nearly 25 years ago) so I don't really count that time. Anyways, I like to buy up some old blue box locos as they are fairly cheap and I practice painting, weathering, detailing, etc. on them. I am wondering what to do about an SDP40 I have that has metal side frames. They are brittle and some brake parts are broken off. Is there somewhere I can find replacement metal frames or even the entire truck assembly in the form of an upgrade? Thoughts please?
ebay is my go to source, but I also frequent local swap meets or train shows. Many hobby stores even have 2nd hand areas. It is often cheaper to buy a second unit for parts than it is to buy the part. It also doesn't have to be an exact match. I'm guessing any truck off an Athearn SD unit will work. You might want to go on to HO Seeker and see if you can find the part lists.

Train shows can often have parts and Athearn blue box stuff. Try to find a train show in a large city near you and go.