Airbrushing rookie!

CbarM

HO all the way!
Hey guys, I just got my Iwata HP-CR airbrush and Im ready to test some stuff. Is there a standard mix for paint to thinner? Testers paint itself I assume has to be thinned some to spray properly...

Alright I'm assuming you haven't used an air brush before,would that be correct? If so in order to just get the feel of using one just use water to start.
Use a card board box to test it ,checking the spray pressure and the spray patterns.try making thin med.and broad lines.
Get used to the trigger action,perticularly if it's a double action.
Read the instructions throughly to familiarize yourself with it.
I'm sure you be getting plenty of advise here on further usage of a great new tool.

Thanks for the reply, and yes, this will be my first time playing with an airbrush...

I'm a rookie at it too, but generally speaking, you want the paint/thinner mixture to be the consistency of milk. I use only acrylics with mine, but the results have been satisfactory. Good luck!

Does the paint stick any better using the airbrush as opposed to a regular brush?

I have a couple plastic products that simply would not take paint well. Even primer out of a rattle can did not stick well. And repeated tries I finally got some paint on there but ended up with some buildup which covered some of the details.

Here is the product:

barrels, scenes 001.jpg

Does the paint stick any better using the airbrush as opposed to a regular brush?

I have a couple plastic products that simply would not take paint well. Even primer out of a rattle can did not stick well. And repeated tries I finally got some paint on there but ended up with some buildup which covered some of the details.

Here is the product:

View attachment 53670

Those are not plastic....they are resin...I've never used resin parts so have no advice beyond using Google to search for " painting resin models"