Add realism to Tyco

Hutch

I have this old Tyco and was wondering what you guy would do to ad realism to it. I have never even touched a train with a brush so, total noob here. I know it's cheap but doesn't look to bad for a start to me.

Attachments

• 20230130_103146.jpg
    20230130_103146.jpg
    300 KB · Views: 85
  • 20230130_103154.jpg
    20230130_103154.jpg
    252.6 KB · Views: 83
I have this old Tyco and was wondering what you guy would do to ad realism to it. I have never even touched a train with a brush so, total noob here. I know it's cheap but doesn't look to bad for a start to me.
I still learning myself, so I'm no help. :)

How I do it:
1) find a photo of what I want
2)compare model to photo
3)change the parts that are different and bother me

Story time: I'm in this spot at the moment. I made model of MRL 290, not a locomotive available, it must be kitbashed. I model 1996(ish) so modeled it without ditchlights, with a beacon, without the Flying W logo, with low brake cylinder trucks, all the details I could see in photos. The horn, though, is a mishmash of parts. It is a Nathan P5 low profile manifold but all the bells are in the wrong places or just wrong for the horn. I found a photo of the horn and copied it with the bells in order 1,2,3,4,4A. When I went to place it, I looked at an earlier photo and realized it didn't wear the horn I made until 2004. In 1996, it had what looks to be some of the same pieces but in a different order, probably 5,2,1,4,5. I'm going to remake it and if anyone has a model of 290 that is supposed to be after 2004, hit me up for a horn.