A Start on Backdrops

I took an overhead projector and made some simple mountain drawings. Then I brushed and sponged for a bit. I have alot to do yet. Sorry the last 2 picts are so dark will try again this weekend.

But let me know what you think?

100_0487.jpg

There will be trees along the wall on top of the rock cut for the mainline. I just started the rocks there. You can see one tree there on the right where I was showing a visitor.

100_0486.jpg

100_0485.jpg

Thanks for looking!!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Not bad! Interesting though on how to accomplish that, I might have to use a variant of that idea.

Nice - I'm painting "distant hills" backdrops right now myself and it's an interesting experience.

I am not an artist... and it shows.

Nice - I'm painting "distant hills" backdrops right now myself and it's an interesting experience.

I am not an artist... and it shows.

Being a Handyman by trade we do alot of painting. However an artist I am not. This is my first poke at anything like this and I went into it knowing I am capable of painting the wall back. LOL

Your foothills look pretty good to me! Were you projecting a slide image of them onto the wall, and "traced" them?

Actually I set the projector about 12 feet off the wall and that cover half the space. I drew the left half and made some reference points and rolled the plastic and turned the machine and drew the right half.

It was all freehand so I could fiddle a bit till I liked the terrain. I just used the clear plastic that rolls on the machine. I traced the terrain I have built on the plastic and then layed the whole strip out flat on the table. This way I had my area marked off and I drew what I wanted it to look like. Then put it back on the machine and shined the image on the wall. I just painted with the projector on because I was afraid guide lines would show.

It looks great to me. :cool: