A Little Scratch

GaryMc

After returning to the hobby after 20 years things have really changed. Got the narrow gauge bug and can't believe what rolling stock cost and you still have to buy trucks and couplers or layout alot of cash for the ready to run stuff. I'm old school and like to build so i decided to have a go at building a
30' ventilated boxcar, very freelanced from looking at alot of pictures. Still have a few details to add then off to the paint booth. Thoughts and comments always welcomed.
js1024_Hon3_boxcar_004.jpg

What an inspiration Gary! :)
Does the door slide open? Sure looks like it does. Are you going to stain it or leave it natural?

I want to learn how to scratch build, too... and recently picked up some stick wood and a really sharp precise clippy hand tool that cuts it square or at any measured angle. Right now I'm still learning how to kitbash plastic.

By the way... where do you get that really cool grooved wood that looks like boards? It adds a lot of realism.

Greg

Thanks Greg, the wood you find at your local hobby store if they carry balsa wood, but you can scribe it your self with a little layout time and a metal straight edge with a needle in a pin vise. I plan to paint it when i finish up the rest of the details so stay tuned.

"Thoughts and comments"... Very nice, indeed! :)

I, too, am returning to the hobby (now On30) after around 20 years away (HO scale back then). It's sad that I can't do any construction these days without glasses.

"Thoughts and comments"... Very nice, indeed! :)

I, too, am returning to the hobby (now On30) after around 20 years away (HO scale back then). It's sad that I can't do any construction these days without glasses.

I just use an array of various magnifiers to compensate...

IMG_3857.png

...got this nice big glass lense hands free magnifier for $6. :)

Finished up and ready to go to work.Used Kadee trucks and couplers and some nut and bolt castings from Grandt line.
js1024_Hon3_boxcar_015.jpg