Search results

1. stokesda

OK honestly

Good call. I just picked up a bunch off the Walthers website for $2-$4 each. Much cheaper than the Athearns for $20+ per set of 3. IMO, the Athearn models are kind of overpriced for what they are. They're nice looking models, but still overpriced. It's a plastic box, for crying out loud! It...
  2. stokesda

EMD F & E Question

I'm no expert, but from what I've read on the subject, they seem to be a more or less "aftermarket" item. It seems that early on, the units were delivered with very minimal grabs on the front end, but after owning them for a while, many railroads started installing grabs in strategic locations...
  3. stokesda

A business we can model

This is the most useful thread I've seen all week! I have the perfect spot for an industry like this. I need something for a spur near a cement distribution facility (Walthers Medusa Cement Co). I was trying to come up with some small, kind of dirty, grungy industry that didn't need a clean or...
  4. stokesda

Container stacking question

Thanks for the quick replies, guys. I thought that it didn't matter which goes on top, but just wanted to make sure.
  5. stokesda

Container stacking question

All right, all you intermodal experts out there... I have several containers of various sizes and want to load up my double-stack well cars. I have a mix of standard height (8'6") and hi-cube (9'6") containers. Is there a rule about stacking hi-cubes on top of standard containers (or...
  6. stokesda

Modern Modeler's Jackpot

I wonder if Pelle Soeberg uses thes kits on his layout (featured in Model Railroader a several times). I think I've seen a few of these on photos of his layout.
  7. stokesda

Loco Terminology

Wow! :eek: Ya learn something new every day!
  8. stokesda

intermodal cars and containers