Search results

1. NYO&W

Mounting Trucks on N Scale chassis – Help Needed

The LIRR MP-54 Project: This is my first attempt at building a kit in N Scale. The prototype was used on the long gone Whitestone Branch of the Long Island Railroad, a portion of which I will be modeling. Paint scheme will be PRR Tuscan Red with black roof and chassis. They were run as...
  2. NYO&W

Acrylics, Warping and Priming Wood Laser Kits.

I am about to attempt my second wood laser kit. My first attempt was an N scale ice house. I brush-applied my cream color without primer to the main building shell, after all 4 corners were glued in place, and watched in horror as the peaked ends of the building warped outward. :eek: I...
  3. NYO&W

My 4x4 Layout

I am new to the MRF and here’s my N scale layout. It is short on scenery (don’t expect to be too impressed :rolleyes:) but there are a lot of things going on in a small, densely packed space. It started out as a simple loop with track pinned directly to a board and just kept growing and...
  4. NYO&W

Remember Your First O Scale Set?

Maybe it was 50 years ago and you have pictures or maybe it was just this year. Either way it’s always special! Here is the Lionel set my Dad set up circa 1959 with me sitting on the table. I still have the Berkshire and the GG-1 and many of the freight cars in this photo. They are set up...
  5. NYO&W

(N-Nn3) Playing Around With Dual Gauge.

I have one piece of Nn3 rolling stock that I wanted to display on my N scale layout so I fashioned a section of dual gauge track. I glued a spare rail to a section of N gauge track to do so. Has anyone out there taken this concept further by creating an entire dual guage layout or branchline...
  6. NYO&W

Weight of full size piece of rail?