Search results

ModelRailroadForums.com is a free Model Railroad Discussion Forum and photo gallery. We cover all scales and sizes of model railroads. Whether you're a master model railroader or just getting started, you'll find something of interest here.

1. dennis461

Running Bear's November 2020 Coffee Shop

Nice seeing these old MU's. I was an electrician 1987-1991, on SEPTA Regional Rail after Conrail gave up these cars.
  2. dennis461

Looking for feedback on new N-Scale layout

I would NOT have a duckunder.
  3. dennis461

Track cleaning car

Is the pad easily replaced? Or removable in some way?
  4. dennis461

Morning all, Hey Boris! I used to work at 'Powelton yard' , it is just off to the right of your picture, We had an alcoholic worker who would disappear into 30th street station at lunchtime (around 8pm). He would stop answering his radio. So the boss would send me to look for him. Powelton...
  5. dennis461

Christmas tree train spiral

You have picked an extremely difficult project, good luck.
  6. dennis461

Laying Cork Roadbed

Don't over think it. You fill the transition in with strips cut or sanded thinner than the mainline, sort of steps. The track will support itself at 2-3 inch intervals. So, mainline 2" gap, slightly thinner cork 2" gap slightly thinner cork, 2" gap, yard thickness cork. Ballast covers your 'sin'.
  7. dennis461

Good morning. Finishing up my weight addition to 2-8-8-2 Rivarossi. Melted some lead into a semi-tubular form. Lots of room in the boiler. 6.5 ozs!
  8. dennis461

Question about purchasing used track

And concerning mixing track. The one common denominator is the distance between the rails, inside dimension. NMRA Standard - Minimum .649", Maximum .672" You can mix code 83 and code 100 by shimming the 83 with small metal strips underneath the rail when sliding on the rail joiner. Or , file...
  9. dennis461

Question about purchasing used track