Running Bear's February 2022 Coffee Shop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Must be this group is have come to or are coming of age......with the discussion of Hearing Aids.

I have been wearing hearing aids since 1970. I can tell I know more about them then most people including the the people who make them or sell them. I have seen the advancement over the years. In the beginning hearing aids did more harm than good as people forget what the actual principle and concept of how hearing aids actually work.

Most people have the misconception of the fact the hearing aids correct the person's hearing for example like glasses. NOT! No and NO! Hearing aid......the word "aid" should be your first clue. It does just that "aids" you in your current hearing situation.

In the 70's and even now the technology that we have it still does the primary function of aiding you to hear more or better by amplification although I do not like those terms.

Here is what is happening: No matter what your hearing status is for your ears, if you have a 10% loss or greater impairment, Hearing aids do NOT correct your hearing. Hearing aids are actually "microphones" having said that it means it amplifies the sound to a higher decibel so you can hear the sounds at a louder decibel. The end result is over time it causes and does more damage. Meaning more hearing loss. This varies from person to person activities and how they apply the use of their hearing aids.

I was born with my hearing impairment. I started with only 24% hearing in both ears. Over the years that has decreased to 17% in both ears. I am a master of facial reading, lip reading and ASL. I have many many stories on that but lets stick with the current subject.

The advancement on the hearing aids have come a long ways. In 1993 the advancement from mono to digital was a huge impact for creating proper adjustments then in 2000 the advancement of smaller telecoils then on to Bluetooth technology.