Hello Everyone.....I just joined

Michiganeer

I have a fair number of questions since I am new to model railroading. One question I have is what is the best software to use to play around with designing layouts? I am specifically interested in Fast Track. I have tried SCARM but it doesn't seem to work well in connecting the track the way Lionel suggests its components for specific layouts. Maybe I have an old version. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Michiganeer, welcome to the forum and welcome to MODEL RAILROADING. Sorry, can't help you with track planning software, but there are people here that can, they'll be along......

Greetings and Welcome to here.

Been a long time since my Lionel days and won't be much help with the software as I drew mine on paper because I found it easier. I'm a Network Administrator who tries to stay away from computer anything in my free time.

Greetings and Welcome to here.

Been a long time since my Lionel days and won't be much help with the software as I drew mine on paper because I found it easier. I'm a Network Administrator who tries to stay away from computer anything in my free time.
So what kind of track did you use and how were you able to get it to translate from paper to fitting properly on your layout?

So what kind of track did you use and how were you able to get it to translate from paper to fitting properly on your layout?

I am using Atlas HO code 100 and laid it out. I am also using a lot of flex track (flexible track) to create my curves and such. It is a lot easier to position than fixed track. I'm not sure Lionel makes flex track for O scale (assuming you're using O27 or O scale). I know they are making HO flex track.