Full power all the time.

the-menace

I am extremely new to model railroading. I bought my first train about a month ago. A Bachmann H O Christmas train along with some other cars. The outfit is preowned but in great condition. I had a lot of trouble getting my engine and tender to run consistently. I found that I had quite a few issues with the E-Z track but when I finally got the track connected properly, the engine and tender ran very well for 6-8 days. The variable speed controller worked well until just the last day of so. Now when I turn on the controller very slightly, the engine spins it's wheels and is running wide open instantly. Now my limited ability told me I needed to ask someone with experience what to do next. I have no clue and I tried looking it up on the internet but didn't find a solution. I am a retired factory electrician so you would assume I could figure it out. Well I guess that is why I am typing this message here. I would appreciate any help anyone can give. It took me two days to figure how the send a message on the forum. I want to add that turning the controller on at the very minimum the track voltage is 15.69 volts. Almost tells my the controller is messed up?????

Last edited:
sounds like you are running DC, and yes the controller is messed up ... probably the easiest is to replace it ..

I would say it's something gone "Phuuutt" in the controller. Not familiar with Bachmann's DC controllers, but generally speaking, 12V is pretty standard for DC trains.

Definitely sounds like something in the controller shorted across the variable electronics. I would recommend filing the controller in the File 13, and obtaining a good powerpack/controller. If you intend to stay with the hobby, I would recommend getting one of the larger ones to allow for expansion. If you intend to go to DCC, but not quite yet, an MRC Tech 6, 6.0 would give you dual capabilities.
Welcome and always ask questions!
Stay well and safe!