problem soldering lighting kit in Walther's car

PatOC

Newbie w/too many hobbies
Hi everyone - I'm hoping someone can help me with a soldering problem I'm having. I'm attempting to add a Miniatronics lighting kit to a Walther's Super Chief dining car. The light is easy enough to apply to the roof of the car with the double-backed adhesive provided. But I'm having trouble trying to solder the wires to the metals prongs at the top of the car. If you're familiar with Walther's cars, these are where the Walther's lighting kits snap in and make contact. When I try to heat the prongs and apply solder, if the solder melts at all, it doesn't adhere. It slides right off the prong. I'm able to add solder to the ends of the wires, just not attach it to the prongs. Has anyone successfully done what I'm trying to do? Or know what I'm doing wrong? I'm using a 40 W, 120 volt iron and 40/tin 60/lead solder, if that matters. This is my first attempt at soldering after reading up on it, so it's possible I'm doing something completely wrong. Any help would be much appreciated as I've spent a lot of time detailing the interior and this is the last step before it's done.

Thanks for any help!
-Pat O'Connor

Pat, my guess would be that the "prongs" may be made out of an alloy that will not take solder or are coated with a metal that won't take solder. Sounds like they are spring metal and made for holding the Walthers kit in place and providing current that way, rather like a battery holder. Doesn't sound like you are doing anything wrong BTW. You might have to find and cut the wires going to the prongs and solder them to the wires from the kit. Hopefully someone else will chime in here and help you.......