General HO Question

macjet

I am a newbie to this website but I've been lurking for awhile. I've searched this forum and nmra.org.

Please forgive me if I missed the answers to these questions. I really did search!

1) Space is a premium in our house. Brand new and already too small. I've decided on a garage located, fold-up, 40"x96" layout. I've read on NMRA about 15", 18", and 22" radius track. 40" will give me a nice 18" radius with sufficient easement. What type of equipment will run on this curve? Will I be limited to four axle diesels or will six axle handle this? I don't plan any excessive length rolling stock. Box, covered hoppers, flats, etc. I don't plan any unit trains, but what would be the max length?

2) This renaissance into model railroading was brought about by my son. I managed to dig up my old stuff from my parents house. What a memory trip. Anyways, I've got three old Athearn locomotives. Two GP9's (SP) and one U28B (BN). These are from the late 80's. The sticker price on the U28 was $22 if that tells you anything. Are these units convertible to DCC? Will they run on a DCC layout if they aren't? I still have a new in the box MRC power pack that was bought for my last layout as a kid that was never used. So, I've got power in the short term. State of the art. For the '80's at least.

3) Rolling stock. I've got 8-10 Athearn cars. All from the time period above. Metal axles with plastic wheels. Do these need to be upgraded? What about couplers. Back in the day, Kadee was all the rage. I recognize the need to upgrade from the out of the box coupling. What is the latest?

Thanks for any and all replies.

1. I'd suggest going 22" at the lowest end, there's a number of products out now that don't like anything less then 24" but 22 is a norm for HO. Broadway limited diesels are supposed to handle 18" even on the 3 axle units but I've found that my BLI AC6000 derails a wheel on 22".