Novice needs advise

Laird Knapp

Hi. I am a novice when it comes to building a HO gauge model railroad. The last time I worked with model trains was in 1976 with a simple oval track on piece of plywood for my son. Now the Covid-19 pandemic is here and I want to build a train layout to have fun with my great grandsons when they are able to visit again.

Here’s where I need help and advice. I have a number of train sets and parts given to me over the years. When I did a small test oval using one of the kit transformers I was able to get an engine to run successfully. I have built some benchwork in my attic and laid out potential track design. But have not been successful in getting an engine to run even when I tried to hook up the three train set transformers at different intervals around the track.

I appear to have solid track connections, and I assume the problem lies in the transformers simply not powerful enough to power the track. I am only planning to run one train that will circle and loop the layout. Any advice or input you can give as to the size or type of transformer/power supplies I need to get the track to go live would be appreciated.

Also, I have been trying to read about wiring and need a little clarification. I am assuming that you run wires from the transformer/power pack to the layout and use buss? connectors to run feeder wires up to the track at different intervals around the track and solder them to the track. Is this correct? You would do the same off the AC side to power accessories on the layout. Correct?

I have two turnouts to allow the train to loop and return from right to left benchwork. Right now these are manual operated. How do electrical operated turnout switches work? Attaching photos of the proposed layout.

Attachments

• track layout 2.jpg
    track layout 2.jpg
    383.3 KB · Views: 156
  • Track layout 3.jpg
    Track layout 3.jpg
    390.8 KB · Views: 164
  • Track layout.jpg
    Track layout.jpg
    427.7 KB · Views: 155