Do you model with DC power, DCC, or MTHs DCS; or, other?

Do you model with DC power, DCC, or MTHs DCS?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
N

NP2626

Simple question, state what you use. No claims that your ideas are best about this. This is a simply a matter of personal choice! What Model Railroading operating system(s) do you use?

Last edited by a moderator:
I use the DC system. I'm a single operator, and usually run two trains at a time. One on my main line and one on the local for switching. That's everything I want from a layout, so DC works for me.

Last edited:
I use DC. It's not for everybody but it works for me. I am a lone operator and don't care for sound. While I can run two trains at once, I never do because I can only keep track of one at a time. However I sometimes run one on the upper level while my grandson runs one on the lower level. I cannot see the entire layout from any vantage point at any time because of it's serpentine nature, I have to follow the train that I am running. I also have 80+ DC locomotives and do not relish installing decoders in them all, either timewise or dollar wise.

I use Digitrax DCC. Most of the time its just me but quite often my grandkids are over and when that happens they want to operate the layout. They had no problem with the DCC controls.

I have the Digitrax Zephyr Express, it is easy to learn and easy to use. I started with Digitrax Zephyr DCS 50, back around 1998. I have also owned the Zephyr Xtra, too.