Tried my hand at fixing a loco

I tried my hand at fixing a bachmann loco my friend had. He had a derail and the train came off his shelf. Broke the wire to the front pickup wheel. I'm still a novice with soldering but he asked me if I could fix it. Well I got it solders and he says it running better now than before the only thing I can think of it was loose before the derail and was shorting. I a little happy with my self fixing it with out melting the trucks tight fit. Learning a little at a time.

You never know what you can do until you try it. Hope you acted just like you knew what you were doing.

I tried my hand at fixing a bachmann loco my friend had. He had a derail and the train came off his shelf. Broke the wire to the front pickup wheel. I'm still a novice with soldering but he asked me if I could fix it. Well I got it solders and he says it running better now than before the only thing I can think of it was loose before the derail and was shorting. I a little happy with my self fixing it with out melting the trucks tight fit. Learning a little at a time.
Lots of things are scary until once tried. For me it was scenery. Then I tried and wondered why I thought it would be hard.

I've been doing a lot of tinkering with locomotives. I've broken a few in the process. Luckily, I've either fixed it or have set it aside for future repairing when my skills improve. DCC converting is my current nemasis. Once I get better at soldering, things should work better for me. The way I see it, unless it catches fire, I haven't lost anything.

Great job, the toughest hurdle is getting started. You are off to a great start as a repair man!

This is a great thread, hopefully it will inspire someone else to try their hand.

If someone is contemplating doing a repair and worried they might do something wrong, don't forget its already broken, what have you got to lose?