HO Semi-Dogbone Project

Breor47

Brakeman
Hello all.

I've mentioned here are there that I might have an opportunity to construct a new HO layout beginning sometime after Christmas. If I do get that opportunity, this layout would be my first non-8x4 layout, which is exciting!

However, that also means I'm pretty new to designing track plans and such. I first outlined my priorities for a layout. I'd like to have, in order from most important to least,

1) Double-main line, continuous loops
2) Industry, including one branch track
3) Village or town
4) Graded Terrain with Mountain(s)
5) River/Water Scenes
6) Wide curves for steam locomotive operation

I thought these things would be pretty important because I like to sit back and watch the trains run through the scenery (who doesn't, I suppose) rather than spend a lot of time shunting or slow operations.

Over the last few weeks, I've made several attempts at putting together something interesting. Below is what I consider to be my best attempt. It met all of my goals and includes a reversing loop (for one direction).

HO Semi-DogBone.PNG
This is a link :)
Click it to make it bigger.

Please let me know what you think (comments are much appreciated) and point out any glaring errors/limitations this has... I'd like to catch them before I drop a lot of money on track!

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice looking plan to me.
I like 2 reverse loops myself.
I think it adds a little more interest when you can run the train in both directions when you want.

What are those two tracks for, on the upper left side? Crossing the mainlines.

You don't have enough room for elevating the tracks to clear the required 3" with a 2% grade. Just shorten those and keep them in the loop there.

Do you like passenger trains? If so, how about adding a passenger station, where the roads are in that small straight section there.

What are those two tracks for, on the upper left side? Crossing the mainlines.