What is a good DCC Transformer for beginners?

Chattanooga

Hello, I am looking for a simple DCC transformer that allows me to get the most out of a DCC equipped locomotive. I've looked at the NCE Powercab and find it might be too complex for my experience level. I've also looked at the Ez command transformer from Bachmann. However, I am looking for input from other people with more experience. Thank you.

The NCE Powercab is your best choice. It is not complicated at all really. I got the NCE Power House Pro 5 amp when I was a complete newbie, and got it hooked up and running within an hour. Just read the manual.

I am with Motley! NCE is great, American made, great service and support.

I went with the NCE DCC Twin starter set with power supply and a NCE ProCab all for under $250 including shipping. I chose that for price and because 3 amps is more then enough for me and I have 2 grandsons so 3 throttles is perfect for me.

In my mind and for my money you can't go wrong with any NCE set up. Depending on what you needs are almost all DCC systems are pretty good. Some have different features and power supplies.

You can start with a NCE DCC Twin for about $125, but you won't have all the functions of DCC. You can always all a ProCab later for about another $125 and then you have all the functions.

I use EZ Track and the power cable for the Bachmann track hooks right up to my NCE, no problems. I would imagine it would hook up to any DCC system because one end is just bare wire.

Last edited by a moderator:
I started with the Atlas Master system. Very easy to use. It's not available anymore but it's compatible with all DCC items.

I would surely look at the MRC Prodigy 2. Very simple and enough power for a good sized layout. Much easier to get used to and you can convert to wireless when you are ready. The manual is very easiy and not complicated.
Wayne

I am looking for a simple DCC transformer that allows me to get the most out of a DCC equipped locomotive.